This is the "Home" page of the "Human Development - Wheelock College" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to library resources for distance-learning Wheelock College students in the Bachelor of Science in Human Development program.
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2014 URL: http://sacredheart.v1.libguides.com/HumanDevelopment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Current Research in Human Development

Blogs, e-mail listservs, and similar "Web 2.0" tools help you stay in touch with the latest developments in your field.

Measure of America Blog (Social Science Research Council)

Cognitive Science Blog and SaldivarMG Twitter Feed

Adult Development & Aging (American Psychological Asso., Div. 20)

Developmental Psychology (American Psychological Asso., Div. 7)

Policy Watch (Society for Research in Child Development)

Social Work Blog (National Association of Social Workers)

Most journal databases include tools to create an RSS feed with updates of your interest areas. Ask a Reference Librarian to show you how to use these tools using your remote access accounts through Wheelock College and the iConn Digital Library. 

 

Did You See This?

U.S. World Book Night - 23 Apr. 2013 - help distribute books to underserved readers.

Brain Changes May Make Elderly More Prone to Scams - Research by Shelley Taylor at UCLA reported in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Guitars And Brains: Neuroscience Synchronization Happens In Musical Duets - Researchers from the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin have shown that synchronization emerges between brains when making music together, and even when musicians play different voices.  (Science 2.0 blog)

" Wisdom from Psychopaths" - a discussion of the wisdom from psychopaths, adapted from the book "The Wisdom of Psychopaths: What Saints, Spies, and Serial Killers Can Teach Us about Success," by Kevin Dutton. Scientific American Mind 23, no. 6: 36-43. Academic Search Premier, EBSCOhost.

"Born to Be Mild." - The article discusses research on moral behavior in infants and toddlers. It comments on research carried out at the Yale Infant Cognition Center at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut, particularly by researcher Arber Tasimi, and at the Laboratory for Developmental Studies at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts, particularly by chief scientist Felix Warneken. The author considers what such research may reveal about ethical judgments, altruistic behavior, and cooperation in young children. TUCKER, ABIGAIL. 2013.Smithsonian 43, no. 9: 34-77. Academic Search Premier, EBSCOhost.

 "Social evaluation by preverbal infants." Paul Bloom, J. Kiley Hamlin, and Karen Wynn. Nature. 450.7169 (Nov. 22, 2007) p557-559. Expanded Academic ASAP, Gale Cengage.

"Can People Really Grow Out of Autism?" Emily Willingham. Forbes. 17 Jan. 2013.

Fein, D., Barton, M., Eigsti, I., Kelley, E., Naigles, L., Schultz, R., & ... Tyson, K. (2013). Optimal outcome in individuals with a history of autism. Journal Of Child Psychology And Psychiatry, And Allied Disciplines, 54(2), 195-205. doi:10.1111/jcpp.12037

 

Connecting to University Research

On the SHU Campus

 Welcome to Sacred Heart University's libraries.  As a distance-learning student enrolled in Wheelock College's Bachelor of Science in Human Development program, you have academic research privileges at our libraries, including:

  • Full use of the libraries and all library materials and databases within the library;
  • Borrowing privileges (28 days, up to 3 books at one time) for circulating materials;
  • Interlibrary Loan borrowing (up to 3 items requested per semester);
  • Library Research class and consultations with academic reference librarians.

Our main library is Ryan Matura Libray; the Cambridge Learning Resources Center provides additional reference materials for Education, Nursing, and Allied Health studies. 

Ryan Matura Libray

5151 Park Ave.

Fairfield, CT 06825

Cambridge L. R. Center

7 Cambridge Dr.

Trumbull, CT 06611

reference & circulating books

periodicals & media

group &  individual study rooms;

reference books & media
 Map & Directions  Map & Directions
 Hours Hours (at bottom of page)
Telephone: 203-371-7726 Telephone: 203-365-4872
e-mail Reference Librarians e-mail Reference Librarian

 

 

Off-Campus

In addition, you can remotely access Wheelock College's online databases and e-book resources, some of which are identical to SHU's.  You can contact librarians at Wheelock College for assistance and use their online resource guides, too.

 

SERC Library


The Connecticut State Education Resource Center Library in Middletown is open to all Connecticut residents and teachers.  Its collection includes theory & methods books, tests, classroom material and professional journals. Access is available to their online journal databases via their library card. You can also search their catalogue online.

Public and Business Libraries

 Your local public library card gives you borrowing privileges at all Connecticut public libraries and access to their online databases. Library catalogue information and many databases are available the iConn: The Connecticut Digital Library.  

Check to see if your place of employment has additional library resources available to you.

 

Conveniences

University Delay/Closing Information

Occasionally, Sacred Heart University's Public Safety office must make unscheduled changes to the opening or closing hours for university facilities due to inclement weather or local conditions.  Click here check for messages about this.  You may also telephone the University's "SNOW Phone"  - 203-365-SNOW / 203-365-7669.  You can also listen for updates on emergency delays  and closings broadcast on radio and television; some of these media outlets also offer a text-messaging service for notices specific to SHU.

You are welcome to telephone the library Circulation Desk (203-371-7702) or the Reference Desk (203-371-7726) for additional information about hours and closings.  However, your call may be routed to the computer voicemail system even when the library is open if staff members are busy with others when you call.  Unfortunately, your message may not be received and responded to for several hours or days.  For this reason, your primary source of information about delays and closings should be the emergency message services mentioned above.

Parking

Ryan-Matura Library guests may park in the areas adjacent to the Library, designated on the Campus Map as "Library Lot" (B)  and "North Lot" (A).  These privileges do not include overnight parking. You may obtain additional directions from the Public Safety Officer at the booth at the main entrance on Park Avenue. During major university events, parking spaces may be limited, and you may be directed to an adjacent parking area at Notre Dame High School.

Food Services

A Starbucks Cafe is now located on the library's main floor, serving hot and cold beverages, pastries, fruit, sandwiches, and other items.  Check here for regular hours (hours may vary during holidays and semester breaks).

Dining services in the Main Academic Center on campus (Outtakes) and in Linda McMahon Student Commons include both meal service and take-out food service.  Click here to see hours and menus.  You may bring covered beverage containers and neatly contained snacks into the library.  You are responsible for avoiding crumbs and spills on library equipment and books and removing all trash promptly.

ATM

An automated teller machine operated by Bank of America is located in the Main Academic Center, near the Pioneer Food Court.

Bookstores

Sacred Heart University's  bookstore (operated by Follett) is located in the Linda McMahon Student Commons and offers textbooks for SHU course, supplemental materials, stationery, computer accessories, and SHU gifts and apparel.  Nearby general bookstores include Barnes & Noble (Post Plaza Shopping Center, Westport).   A number of specialized local bookstores are also within a short drive offering children's books, religious books, rare books, and other special interest books.  Ask the reference librarian for more information about these retailers.

Mobility and Access Concerns

The three floors of the library are accessible by elevator.  Parking spaces reserved for patrons with state handicapped parking permits is located in the Library Lot, near the sidewalk connecting the Library and the Main Academic Center.  A ramp and power-operated doors on the right side of the the front entrance of the Library assist mobility-impaired patrons. The restrooms on all floors of the library are handicapped-accessible.  Telephone the Library Circulation Desk (203-371-7702) for additional information about your specific mobility and access concerns.

Information Access and Managment Tools in the Library

The Sacred Heart campus has wireless Internet access, and most patrons bring personal laptop computers for library research. Power outlets and wired Internet access ports are available; bring the necessary accessories and connections for your computer or cell phone.  Please make cell phone calls from the Library lobby.  There is no secure storage space for laptops or valuables in the library.  If you must leave your work area, we recommend that you take your laptop and other valuables with you or store them in your locked vehicle.

Three desktop computers (Windows PCs) are available for public  use on a first-come, first-served basis.  These public computers provide Internet access, including the library's electronic resources, and Microsoft Office tools (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc.).  Work cannot be saved on the public computer hard drives, however.  You may e-mail your work to yourself (without formating) or you may use a personal flash drive to save your work.  Documents may be printed (B&W) from the public computers (10 cents per page) and photocopied (B&W) (10 cents per page), paid in cash.

Microfilm resources may be viewed, printed, or digitized and saved or e-mailed.  Black & white and color scanning machines are also available for print and microform materials.  There is no fax machine available.

Headphones may be borrowed to listen to audio files on the computer. 

Library Patron Work Areas

The main floor of the Library is the reference and collaborative work area, with larger tables for groups.  Reference Librarians are available for consultation in this area, and circulating materials may be checked out here.   Discussions are permitted; patrons should avoid excessive volume levels which disrupt the work of others.  Resources include:

  • print reference materials
  • current popular newspapers and magazines
  • recent acquistions and popular books

The upper floor of the library is the quiet study area. It is equipped with indivdual study carrels and lounge seating areas.  Resources include:

  • circulating books (Library of Congress classes A - Q)
  • juvenile literature from the Instructional Media Collection

The lower floor of the library houses the periodicals collection.  Resources include:

  • print periodicals (alphabetically by title) in the front shelves
  • microfilm periodicals in black cabinets along right wall
  • print newspapers along right wall
  • microfilm New York Times, Wall Street Journal, ERIC documents, and government documetns along left wall
  • circulating books (Library of Congress classes R-Z) (back shelves)
  • print indexes and abstracts (back shelves)
  • teacher resources (back shelves)

Reference Librarian & Guide to Information Jungle

Ask the Reference Librarian

Send your questions about Human Development to the Sacred Heart Reference Librarians.  Your answer will be posted on the library's LibAnswers page and can be e-mailed to  you.

 

Mobile Apps

Smartphone Apps provide quick references and interactive models; these are downloadable for free for the iPhone.  Other relevant apps may be purchased.

OECD Factbook 2010 - Data collected by the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development; provides a global overview of today’s major economic, social and environmental indicators.  Available as downloadable databook and iPhone app.

Super Freakonomics: Are You Greedy? - like the book, this interactive app tests our assumed values against our actual choices.

STAT Growth Charts Lite - calculates height, weight, BMI, & head circumference percentiles along with Z scores using latest CDC Growth Charts data.

Mind in the Making: The Essential Life Skills Every Child Needs, Vol. 1 (Sample) - "the most important skills that children need to thrive now and in the future are distilled from the latest research in child development."  Additional chapters available for purchase.

The Economist: The World In Figures - current statistics on populations, economics, development, etc. from around the world.

 

Telephone Directory

203-371-7702 - Library Circulation Desk

203-371-7995 - SHU Public Safety Office

203-365-SNOW (7669) SNOW Phone

203-365-4768 - SHU Bookstore

203-396-TIXX (8499) SHU Athletic Tickets

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip